301-926-2256 [email protected]

11 June 2005 | Approved: 10 June 2006

Mayor John Compton called the 69th annual Town Meeting to order at 8:17 p.m. The Reverend Joseph Clark delivered the invocation. There were over 60 residents in attendance.

Approval of Minutes

It was moved and seconded that the Annual Town Meeting minutes of June 12, 2004 be approved. The motion passed unanimously.

Mayor’s Report

Mayor Compton thanked members of the Town Council, Planning Commission, Historic Preservation Commission, Board of Zoning Appeals, and Board of Election Supervisors. The Mayor specifically noted the following accomplishments by Grove volunteers:

  • Dan Tutas – Trash Crew of one; Railroad Street
  • Bill Saar – Website Coordinator
  • The Recreation Committee
  • The Lake Committee; especially John Hutchinson and Dodie Tippens
  • The Forestry Committee; especially Carol Uhlendorf and Darrell Anderson
  • Tami Williams – Summer In The Parks Programs
  • The Mousetrap Concert Series; especially Ann Briggs, Alice Negin and Tanya Anisimova
  • Vicky Erhart – Street Light Czarina
  • Neighborhood Watch Volunteers

Mayor Compton also thanked Town employees Treasurer Mary Challstrom, Maintenance Supervisor Jim Fletcher and Town Clerk Kathy Lehman for taking care of the Town.
Mayor Compton made a call for volunteers for the two (2) positions on the Gaithersburg/Washington Grove Fire Board and for a McCathran Hall Scheduler.

Mayor Compton said that the state of the Town was good and commented on the many issues and projects from the past year, including; improvements in the trash/recycling collection service, repairs to the Woodward Park parking lot and field, Pepco pruning & reforestation, unsafe equipment removed from the playground, new climbing wall built and installed by Town Maintenance, $30K in road repairs completed with bids out for additional work, WSSC water main replacement on Brown Street, and the formation of a McCathran Hall Needs Committee to establish a priority list for improvements and maintenance of the Town Hall.
Mayor Compton also mentioned the events that continue to happen throughout the year as a result of planning, organization and hard work by community volunteers.

With input from the Planning Commission and residents, the Mayor and Council continue to struggle with revisions of the Town Code including a Municipal Infractions Ordinance, a Charitable, Religious & Educational uses within Residential Zones Ordinance, and a revised Fee Schedule. Hiring a Code Enforcement Officer and the Master Plan revision were said to be over-due. Mayor Compton mentioned that annexation of the Cator property (the corner of Ridge Rd. & Railroad St.) is also being considered. The zoning would be residential.


  • Casey Field – Mayor Compton reviewed the various road blocks and pit falls that occurred during the past year including some mention of the Shady Grove Master Plan. The development plan for this property was approved by M-NCPPC in December.
  • Deer Park Bridge – Mayor Compton reported that neither the City of Gaithersburg nor the Town of Washington Grove was in favor of any of the replacement options presented by the County DPWT. Mayor Compton thanked Gail Littlefield for her work in getting the status of Historic Designation for the Humpback Bridge by the Montgomery County Historic Preservation Commission.

Mayor’s Service Award

Mayor Compton announced that the first recipient of this award is "Miss Meadow", Shelley Winkler. He thanked her for her tireless efforts in preserving the Casey Field and presented her with a framed print of the Washington Grove page in the Maryland’s 157 Book.

Election Results

The Town Clerk announced the following election results:

  • Mayor: (1 yr. term) John Compton 48 – elected
  • Council: (3 yr. term) Georgette Cole 48 – elected
  • (3 yr. term) David Stopak 48 – elected

Action on FY 2006 Budget and Tax Rates

Mayor Compton opened the budget discussion.
Tom Land moved to approve the FY2006 Budget. It was seconded by Barbara Hawk.
Residents expressed concerns about the following;

  • Rising legal expenses
  • Insurance
  • Tax rate
  • Annual contribution to the GWG Fire Department
  • $10K Land Planning expense
  • Money for an engineering study and transportation planner for the Deer Park Bridge issue

The question was called and the vote was unanimous.

David Stopak moved to transfer unspent but allocated road funds from 2005 to 2006 budget. It was seconded by John Klinger and passed unanimously.

A motion was made to approve the tax rate. It was seconded and passed unanimously.

Planning Commission Report

Chairman John McClelland thanked members of the Planning Commission and Secretary Missy Yachup for their service to the Town. He thanked Darrell Anderson for the summary of Planning Commission activities and encouraged residents to review it. John also thanked Mayor Compton for his continued diligence with the affairs of the Town. He reported that the following issues would be worked on in the coming year;

  • Master Plan revision
  • Further revision of Town Ordinances to clarify intent and eliminate loop holes
  • Single family dwelling vs. multi-family dwelling issue
  • Deer fence ordinance

John encouraged residents to come to Planning Commission meetings and volunteer to help with these difficult issues.

Historic Preservation Commission Report

Chairman Bob Booher reported that the HPC did reviews for 16 major permit applications and that the photograph project was finished. He thanked Mary Challstrom and Missy Yachup for their work in getting the Archives organized. Bob also reported that the Town website had a good deal of Town history on it and encouraged people to view it. The HPC will put out a questionnaire asking for Town input concerning preservation in the coming year. He also reported that a Mansionization Conference was held in Washington Grove and that most of the County Council attended. A discussion about Mansionization ensued.

The Historic Preservation Commission Award for Outstanding Renovation was presented to Mimi Styles, 301 First Avenue.

George Paine moved to adjourn, Tom Land seconded and, by unanimous vote, the meeting was adjourned.

The meeting was adjourned at 10:24 p.m.

Translate »