301-926-2256 [email protected]


McCathran Hall

Washington Grove is an incorporated Town and member of the Maryland Municipal League. It is governed by citizen volunteers chosen in annual elections on the second Saturday of May. Elections are conducted by a three-member Board of Supervisors of Elections, appointed bi-annually by the Mayor, and are held in the Town Hall.

Any Town resident registered to vote in Montgomery County is qualified to vote in Washington Grove elections. *NOTE: The Annual Town Meeting will be held by remote technology and both the Meeting and the Town election will be held on our normal Election Day of May 9, 2020. Elections will be conducted by Absentee Ballot. See DOCUMENTS section on this page for more information.

Mayors are elected to one-year terms and are required to have lived in Town for two years immediately preceding their election. Councilors are elected to three-year terms and are required to have lived in Town for one year immediately preceding their election.

Nominations must be submitted in writing to the Chair of the Board of Supervisors of Elections, on or before the second Monday in April next preceding the election. The signature of two qualified voters as nominators and an acceptance by the nominee are required.

Voting is conducted between 4:00PM and 7:00PM. Results are announced at the annual Town meeting held election night. Absentee ballots are available upon request from the Chair until ten days before an election.


Town Elections…Only 4 Months Away!

Let’s bring talk of elections back into the news! In Washington Grove election day will be Saturday, May 8. Nominations close April 12. Open this year will be the Mayor’s office, a one-year term; and two Council seats with three-year terms. Irregularity-free and, for...

Yard Signs, Political and Other

In this political season it is not unusual to see signs of support for candidates in many yards. Residents are reminded that such signs should only be displayed on private property per Article VII, Section 6.3 (a). “Signs are permitted in each zone subject to the...

Scroll Up